User login

The Climate Vulnerable Forum (CVF)

The Climate Vulnerable Forum (CVF) was founded at the initiative of the Maldives when eleven vulnerable countries from across the world met in Malé in November 2009 to highlight their challenges and seek international assistance. These countries are the Maldives, Kiribati, Bangladesh, Barbados, Bhutan, Ghana, Kenya, Nepal, Rwanda, Tanzania and Vietnam.

The first CVF Meeting adopted a declaration which expressed alarm at effects of human-induced global warming and sought international assistance to fight the dangers of climate change. Since inception, the Forum has met with considerable success under the leadership of the Maldives and Kiribati in presenting of these countries as well as in creating an awareness and appreciation in the climate talks. The Copenhagen Accord acknowledged the importance of compensation for loss and damage incurred by the vulnerable countries. This was also reflected in the decisions taken in Cancun last year.

Since its formation, fifteen more countries mostly LDCs and SIDS joined the forum. The present membership stands at 26.

Members of the Forum are: Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh (Incoming Chair), Barbados, Bhutan, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Kenya, Kiribati (Present Chair), Liberia, Maldives (First Chair), Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nepal, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Vietnam.
Seven more countries have been invited to join the forum. The countries are: Afghanistan, Gambia, Haiti, Madagascar, Mayanmar, Nicaragua and Papua New Guinea.

In September 2010, the Maldives handed over the chairmanship to Kiribati. Bangladesh will assume the chairmanship of the Forum in November 2011.